true danger of base cut? - pulling leaning alder with big come along

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldboy

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I've got some solid experience under my belt, and feel competent enough climbing with spikes or ropes. There are just so many darn leaning red alders where I live, people want em down, but I don't want to climb em cusa tha lean. I've had success shooting a line up high and then setting up a pulley to come along and cranking the heck out of it. The result of this is that I can reverse or dramatically change the direction of the lean, then take my notch and make my back cut... This method obviously also results in severe loading of the trunk, and you can hear the bugger popping as you walk up to it with your saw. So far so good, I've had a few chair on me, but they went slowly enough that I easily ran one of many preplanned escape routes to safety...

I'm planning on upgrading my come along to a big'un. I'll be tackling some bigger and harder leaning trees too. We all have probably heard of horror stories of trees (in my case red alder) chairing in a heartbeat or busting with big splinters flying... No close calls so far for me with this method, how likely are the chances of those terrible scenarios if I continue to take extreme care like I always do?

Thanks for any info!