vegetable oil

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

g/n

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Have you guys ever heard of using vegetable oil instead of bar oil

I have seen it mentioned....not sure I would though....but hey some folks make use of used engine oil

You need to be very careful. They are all related to linseed oil, the stuff they used to make paint out of. If you do use it, at least make the last fill of the day mineral oil. You are really risking gumming up your saw. It also doesn't have the ''cling'' additives.

I don't claim to know much about saws, but I am a chemist and spent 10 years working in the paint industry.

I have said this on here before but a guy that I haul logs for used used deep fryer oil for bar oil for nearly a year. He claimed that it worked well but after a while the whole saw gets a sticky film on it.

Only if you're cutting frozen meat, like a Moose quarter.

I agree with Gary, even though he's usually not one to sugarcoat anything, he's right about this one.

If you really look at costs, maybe using cheap corn oil from Sam's club would be cheaper than name-brand bar oil at a low-volume OPE shop. But the stuff will oxyidize and polymerize (turns into plastic) on you.

Some people might be lumping veggie oil in along with some highly refined synthetic bar lubes. Oregon has one that starts with a vegetable oil, and I think there's one made from beef tallow and veggie oils. These are very costly, but I hear are required in certain situations...like trimming trees in some eco-conscious cities.