when you have under bid...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mitchell

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Thanks again for all the advice

How do you approach asking for more money when you relieze you have seriously under bid. I am new to the game with one year on my own. I have underbid and reliezed it would be cheaper to walk with no pament and get on with oher work but I dont feel comfortable with that ethically. that is particularly as i live an die by referals. Ethcally speaking, how much is the customer responcible; in one case I have found out the next cheapest to my 700 was 1500! I have approuched these situation so far by asking for more time to do it when I dont have anything else to do.
cheers scott

How do you approach asking for more money when you relieze you have seriously under bid. I am new to the game with one year on my own. I have underbid and reliezed it would be cheaper to walk with no pament and get on with oher work but I dont feel comfortable with that ethically. that is particularly as i live an die by referals. Ethcally speaking, how much is the customer responcible; in one case I have found out the next cheapest to my 700 was 1500! I have approuched these situation so far by asking for more time to do it when I dont have anything else to do.
cheers scott

Just do it, the old saying "experience is the best teacher but the tuitions mighty costly" You live and die by referals, enough said.

Most of the time you just have to do it. Depending on the situation, if you haven't started and you've just given the quote, sometimes you can be honest with them and tell them you blew it, add a bit and they're still happy. Did one quote and by the time I reached the top of the driveway, realized it was a much longer drag than I accounted for. Went back to the house explained and they were happy to pay a few hundred more.

cheers scott