Which saw should I get?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Glend9001

Reaction score
I'm new to owning a chainsaw, but fairly experienced in running one. My main question is should I get a used Stihl MS440 or a new MS 311? They're about the same price, the new is a bit more. My use right now is I have a lot of limbs upwards of 8-10 inches across from an unkempt pear tree in my front yard. Yes both of these saws are way oversized but hear me out. I potentially plan on cutting this tree down entirely as it's not helping the ever worsening foundation problem. This tree is easily 20-30 inches across I'd say and I currently only have funds for one saw and may not have the money for another for some time. I also enjoy my own fair bit of tackling projects and my hunting land is also in need of some work on all the dead trees in the timbers and ditches that make it hard to navigate. So, should I go with a used saw that will definitely handle my tasks present and future or get a new saw that may need upgraded at some future point in time but is definitely enough for now? Or should I do something completely different? I'm partial to Stihl as thats what I'm experienced with but I'm all ears from those with experience. Thank you.