Why don't any firewood sellers let their wood season??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lopro

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Ok, I'm not a firewood processor. I've just been calling around to see who has seasoned firewood. I've been asking, "how long ago was your firewood split?". The answer I usually get is, "...it's seasoned."

Now, this is getting frustrating because everybody who says their wood is seasoned has only split anywhere from spring to now. When I tell them I'm looking for wood that was split at least a year ago, then they usually will tell me how "good" their wood burns. According to what I've learned on this great site and others, it takes over 12 months to profess that oak is seasoned.

Why don't sellers of firewood understand firewood? Or am I being an anal, type Z+ customer? Or does wood season faster in South Carolina where our winter isn't frozen? I can find my own green wood to split for next year, I need dry wood for this year!

...I'm just sayin'

Local guy with a processor here has logs sitting on a concrete pad all summer, splits them&lets them sit for a month or 2 tops, then sells it as seasoned. I don't know how he stays in buisness. Years ago when I didn't have a truck I bought a cord of "seasoned" oak from him. I ended up cussing at a hissing stove. Then I realized what he'd been doing as far as his processing routine. If at all possible get your own saw&pickup.

Common problem. The thing is that they have money tied up in the woodpile and want it back as fast as possible. Hard to find good seasoned wood anywhere I think. I split some oak that had been down in log lengths for a year, and water was squeezing out around the wedge, so no, you are not being anal.

I have seen a guy bring a load of wood to a buddy of mine that still had green leaves on it, and he argued that the stuff wasn't green!!!!!!!!