Winter Work

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BillC

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello all, great site here. I am new to the industry and was curious as to how the work tapers off in the winter. I am in NY so anyone in the Tri-state area with some info to share would be greatly appreciated. I know some sell the wood from the prior season but I have none seasoned yet. Thanks again.

Generally the small, new guys take off for the winter and maybe work a day here and there and maybe do some firewood or snow removal. Most of the work I do in winter is usually contract stuff set aside to do in the winter to stay busy. This is usually at golf courses and housing developements.

Only thing you might want to try is to talk ppl into waiting on certain removals til winter. If the tree would be easy is you could drive to when ground hard and stuff like that to save your self some work. Also another customer incentive would be to offer a 10% discount on work done during the winter. That way you can space your work out more and try to keep a steady pace and income.