Wood Stack Pictures

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ProMac1K

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
This will be my second year cutting wood for the forced-air burner that is piped into the ducting in the basement. First year that I plan to cut and stack wood for full-time use. Last year I just cut up various stuff I accrued when cleaning up the yards on the farms, and made a crib similar to the ones in the Northern Tool catalog to let it season. To make a long story short, i'm new to stacking wood. I know there's a lot of threads to research on in the archives (and I will use the search function until I get silly), but I bet some of you have some pictures taken of your wood piles, where you stack your wood, and how you stack it.

I would love to see your pictures to get an idea on how I should go about storing what I get cut. The terms cord and face cord come to mind, and once I figure out them maybe i'll get an idea on how you stack. But pictures would help to understand the concept. Hope some of you can help me out. Thanks!

There's 8 full cord [128 cf/per] in this stack. Put up early in the spring, covered on top, good to burn by winter.
woodpilex.jpg

Good pictures!

So do the stacks have to be covered? Some I see do, some I see don't. Obviously they don't have to be in a building, but how long will they last being exposed without being covered. Will they get moisture and bug damage that way?

Nice job Gary.

Here's mine. I stack on pallets a two deep row, always four feet tall, and as long as I can. I cover the stacks before the winter rains start and don't uncover them until I burn and then I just roll the plastic (black visqueen from HD) back as needed.

That one pile is 96 feet long so just over 8 cords. I have about 88 feet of that pile left for this year plus another 6 cords of fresh.

Highbeam: