Your Definition of a Hack

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newb

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey All, Im curious as to what you consider a hack. I work full time as a Tool Maker for the past 27 years. I also heat my house with wood. So I started many years ago as a wood vulture. Got to know many small tree services. Then I would help with ground work as they were taking down the tree and I was loading. I always watched quietly and admired what they did and how they did it. I then bought climbing gear (no spikes) and climbed trees for fun. Eventually I bought a silky to take up with me and clean up deadwood. After about a year I started doing it for money. I have all my own climbing gear (Kliens now also) and alot of rigging gear. During the season I do about 4 jobs a week. My goal is to retire in 3 years from the factory and do this full time. Ive read the books watched the vidieos and worked with other climbers. So I dont consider myself a weekend hack, but do the pros? I dont have a chipper or grinder but do hire it out. So, whats your definition? Pete

If you do work according ANSI standards, carry the proper insurance to protect you, your crew, and the home owner (WC and liability), then your not a hack.
Actually, if you do bad work, you're a hack, if you are underinsured, you're a fly-by-night. :p

An arborist will do whatever she (for the chick;)) can to to do work that will benefit the tree and the trees owner

A tree worker will perform proper pruning and do whatever the owner wants

a hack cuts wood for a living, and has no interest in learning any so called science behind the trade. They're just trees fo crying out loud! I've been doing this for 20 years....