Husky 261 muffler mod

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Been lurking around here for almost a year now. Learned a lot. Thanks for all the information.

I've been cutting wood for more than 40 years. Logged professionally in the 70s, but just doing firewood now 'cause of my back. I've muffler modded just about all my saws and I'm about ready to start woods porting them. I have a converted Husky 261 with a 262 Bailey's p/c. I put a 3 shoe clutch on it. Carb's been adjusted, but it has the original muffler. I can't figure out how to mod it. Do you think I should just buy a 262 muffler and mod that?

Appreciate any input. Thanks again for all the information.

Last edited:
Here is a pic of my 262xp muffler I modded with a Husqvarna 503-07-83-01 deflector. It has a 261 cover on it and I call it my tri port muffler. I would think you could mod a 261 muffler the same. I don't know if a 261 muffler is a hollow can like a 262 is, if it's not you could gut it.
Also, on the 262 mufflers I've seen there are beads of weld on the bolt tubes that protude into the exhaust inlet of the muffler, if the 261 is like that you may want to grind them down.
If you need porting pics let me know.

attachment.php

The 262 mufflers are hollow, I have a 261 that has a wall dividing front from back with about a 9/16" hole near the center for the exhaust slot in the front cover. The deflector for the side port looks more restrictive also.

I cut the stock deflector off, ground out everything under it and brazed it back on.

But, all you need to do is drill a hole in the side. Probably about 5/8".

Or, you could open up the slit on the front cover, enlarge the hole behind it and drill a hole through the partition. That would be the easiest way to keep a spark screen