Opinions on falling this tree...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeanBrown3D

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hello all,

I want to fall this tree directly towards the camera, you can see the lean to the left (that's showing its full lean, directly left also).

attachment.php

I've never done a dutchman's cut before (I think that's what they are called), but this is maybe a good place to try.

Any opinions, can this tree fall the right way or is it leaning too much?

Thanks!

Dean

Dean, do not try the dutchman, it is prohibited in BC, skilled fallers are not allowed to use it (many do of course but they have the skills), nevermind what Treespidey says, don't go there. This tree looks pretty small, scamper up it halfway, tie a rope to it with a bowline, take the other end and about 20ft. before a suitable tree (in the direction of intended fall) tie a bowline on the bight, run the end around the tree and through the bowline on the bight. Then put in the undercut, leaving more holding wood on the off lean side, yard the snot out of the rope and tie it off with some wraps and two half hitches. Then backcut, use a little wedge just in case, should work, done similar many times.

Thanks for the reply!

What do you mean yard the snot out of it? I picture what you have set up, except for that (I do assume you mean to tighten the rope).

The purpose of the exercise is to try some more advanced felling techniques, rather than just getting rid of the tree. We have a machine right next to the tree that can pull it out in a second. However, if you consider the dutchman to be so dangerous, maybe I'll think of something else to do.

It could break that rock too, I suppose.

Dean