Skidding Winch on Subcompact Tractor

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doug in SW IA

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have a 9 acre lot that is primarily forest. I have been heating with wood for over 20 years. I have a Kubota BX24 and I am thinking about getting a Farmi JL290 skidding winch. Up to now I have dropped the trees, cut them to firewood length in place and carried or rolled the pieces out to the trail or openings. This last year I got hit with straight line winds over 100mph or the edge of a tornado and lost 65 trees. Or more correctly there are 65 trees that had the potential to be sold. There are more that are snapped and too small to sell. So I have some major thinning and improvement ahead of me.

I am getting older so I am thinking a skidding winch might be worth considering. Drop the trees and then skid them out to the open so I don't have so much carrying. Another issue I have is that my little forest is fairly dense and I have problems getting trees to drop. They tend to get hung up and don't go all the way down. Could a skidding winch help me pull the butt of those trees out so they would go down? I am also thinking the winch with a snatch block could be used to better direct the direction of fall.

Thanks for the input.

Doug in SW IA

a winch is invaluable in the woods.

Fer sure use a snatch block to redirect back to your winch when pulling trees over, especially with a light machine, helps keep said machine on the ground where it belongs.

as for pulling out hung up trees, hook em low, and put a wrap on it so it wants to twist out of the trees its hung up in, but be very careful as it can dig in and pull over on top of you, one of the reasons for hooking the tree low is the idea is to pull the butt out and drag the tree out of the standing timber. Hooking high can and likely will cause it to pull over rather then slide out.