Welding of a top handle and replacement rubber for handles

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cut4fun

Faster is Better
Reaction score
I have a top handle for a partner 5000 that must of seen some real abuse. The aluminum handle on the right side near the AV is broken about 75% across. Pretty much a straight break.
Someone must of been tugging really hard on it for some reason, because of that top handle break and the spring on lower side is snapped into pieces and rear AV trashed.
But I was wondering how you would go about welding a aluminum handle? What type of welder?
I am just a chicken scratch stick welder, so I will need to find someone that can do the job right too.

Also I have a good 5000 handle that has the rubber covering missing. I have heard that some place can put new rubber back on the handles. If so how much and where? or what have you done to make a good replacement?

Go to you local welding supply shop and get a few sticks of the rod they sell to "braze" aluminum. I have used this stuff and was very impressed with the strength of the repair, easier to hide than a bead of weld too. All you need is a propane or mapp torch.

Stihl sells the handle bar padding as a repair pat, your dealer won't have it in stock and will have a tough time finding it in the books, it in there, I just don't remember where.

You can buy alum. rods for you're stick welder, and they can wok nicely, but man is it a BEOTCH!!!! You have to "push" the rod, rather than pull it like you normally do, I have seen it done beautifly, and I have done it crapily, but it can be done, realativly inexpensivly if you want to try. A TIG is the best bet, a MIG with a spool gun is second, then the alum. arc rods. The brazing will look good, my problem with it is lack of penetration.
Andy

That right there is why I try to chose my words very carefully here. :laugh: