Chainsaw problem

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rube2112

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Greetings from Ohio.
I have recently started milling with my Husqvarna 455 and today I went back to the woods to get some more done and the saw wouldn't start. I've been using chainsaws and related equipment all my life and I take care of my stuff. The saw is getting gas, fire and should run but it won't. It only spits occasionally when trying to start it. I think this may be a compression problem but I have done nothing to the saw that would account for excessive wear to the engine especially since its only about a year old. I can't afford to run out and get another saw and I desperately need to get milling again. Compression seems weak until I oil the cylinder. I'm wondering what the chances are of having something in a reed valve. I'm a competent mechanic but not so much experience with 2 cycles. What is the procedure for inspecting the reed valves? From what I've heard, I don't want to fight a warranty battle because I'll most likely pay for it anyway. Any help would be appreciated......Robb

Your 455 doesn't have reeds...it's a strato-charged piston-ported two-cycle. (As if we needed more hyphenated descriptions.)

The new strato saws don't take as well to milling as the standard piston-ported two cycle engines. It's likely the piston is scuffed up pretty good. At this point you probably don't have enough compression to make a running saw.

Your 455 doesn't have reeds...it's a strato-charged piston-ported two-cycle. (As if we needed more hyphenated descriptions.)

The new strato saws don't take as well to milling as the standard piston-ported two cycle engines. It's likely the piston is scuffed up pretty good. At this point you probably don't have enough compression to make a running saw.

that sounds bad and its not cheap