298 Husky Gas octane?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rooftrussman

Reaction score
I'm new to milling and trying to get set up to give it a try. I figure a big saw is best but I won't do enough for a while to spend money on a newer saw. This one has good compression but detonates or backfires on idle. Less on higher speeds. I have 87 octane in it. I'll try higher octane but thought there might be some thing else to look at. I'll be milling poplar 24" or so to start.

The 298 will be tough on your arm. They are notorious for hard pulling and kickback when starting. I have a real nice one but rarely run it.

Bill

Welcome to ArboristSite

Hi RTM. I would definitely use premium gas in your saw. Husky originally specified regular as OK. That was back when regular gas was a lot better quality and a higher octane number than the crap we have today. Try to stay away from the alcohol blended gas. A high quality 2-cycle oil also is important. Husky specified a 50 to 1 mix ratio. For milling, you would want to up the oil and mix it in at at minimum a 40 to 1 ratio. Some would even use more oil than that. A lot of the guys here swear by Mobil MX 2 synthetic oil. Make sure your air filter is clean and in good shape. Check it often. Hope this helps.

Here is a link for some basic info on your 298.

http://www.acresinternet.com/cscc.n...b77c0ec7f047c10b88256d09002017a0?OpenDocument

Bill G said:
The 298 will be tough on your arm. They are notorious for hard pulling and kickback when starting. I have a real nice one but rarely run it.

Bill
They were on the market just a year or two because if these issues, I have read. I also believe that Husky used to substitute the starters for 2100/2101 ones on warrancy....

A 298 in original condition may evenyually become a sought after collectors item because of this.....:confused: