575xp operation report.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AngelofDarkness

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I finally got a chance to play with my new saw today. I cut up a big sugar maple log into some 16" rounds and cut the ugly gnarly top off the log that I think is bonfire material.

I have to say I was a tad bit disappointed. he saw started and ran good, and I put the bar on the log for my first cut. I was buzzing away through it at a reasonable speed, but not a whole lot faster than my Poulan 330 Pro w/22" bar. Then I made my first mistake, I let the bar tip hit the ground as I finished my first cut. Bad me. I could notice the dulled chain cutting slower immediately.

Then I made my second mistake. I am new to big bars and adjustable oilers and I did not realize the oiler had been put on the DUMP RESIVOIR setting from the factory, the oiler used up all the oil in about 3 minutes and without realizing it I was trying to cut with no oil on a 28" bar! I caught it only after making my third cut through the log and getting the tip of the bar in the ground AGAIN.

Then, after refilling the oil tank I started having chain tension problems, I dunno if it had to do with running out of oil, running a new chain that was really long or a combination of the two, but I just could not keep tension on the chain for more than 2 minutes without it coming loose again. So I decided to call it a day before I did any more damage. After rolling over the log I was working on I saw big oil marks from where I had been cutting.