Another wood ID + some interesting "pear"

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sw18x

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Can anyone ID this wood? I picked it up from a pile at the tree service, it was a fairly new cut I but didn't get a chance to ask him what it was. It feels very heavy /dense, despite the wide spaced rings, and has a VERY strong acidic smell, similar to what I smell from fresh honey locust but much stronger.

The last picture is some "pear" from the same company. I was picking through the pile when one of the driver's came over and asked if I wanted a few chunks. He told me what type of pear it was but I forgot what he said; I do remember him saying it's one of the best woods to burn, and based on the weight (easily as dense as locust), I believe him. I admit I'm relatively new to the firewood game, but I just love the color of this wood, I've never seen anying like it.

Sorta big

Pretty large chunks for any pear tree I ever saw. I'm medium colorblind so looking at end grain color..meh, hard to tell. I'd agree the bark furrows and textures look like tulip poplar somewhat. The bark doesn't look like any pear to me, even the ornamentals, but I am no ways an expert either, other guys here are much better..

Tulip poplar is real heavy when you first cut it, like willow say, but dries out and splits real light. It burns similar to real dry pine, without as much sap. It's OK for when you want a small heat fire, or for quick fast fire to get some heavier stuff burning. It won't be anything like the denser hardwoods though, not even close. If you wait until the rounds show some cracks, it pops apart wicked easy, but while still wet, you could very well just get bounce from an axe or maul. Like rubber. But it only takes a few weeks to show real good cracks. Once split it dries amazingly quick.