Best way to handle this big Oak

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bspring

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I need some advice on this tree. I hate to cut it because it was a beautiful Willow Oak. During the construction of my house last year I tried to get the construction crew to work around it but I guess the stress was more than it could take. There is one small patch of green at the top and two branches at the bottom that are green. Unless someone on here tells me that there is a way to save it I will have to drop it.

I am an amateur but would feel comfortable dropping this tree right where I want it if the risk of missing was not so great. I have thought about putting my front end loader against it and making one cut at the bottom but I am leaning toward getting a friend with some climbing gear to help me take the limbs off and then drop the trunk. I know another method would be get a rope longer than the tree and pull it with the tractor but I don’t know if I can come up with that much rope or risk damaging someone else’s rope.

I am more of a do it your self kind of guy but I will take all the advice I can get. So what do you guys think about this one?

It looks pretty straight-forward to me. Wedge it on a calm day and there's a good chance you won't hit the house. If your gun isn't gonna be perfect then err on the woods side.

are you a climber if so top it out rig it down 4' if not call a tree service do not listen to wood cutters here :jawdrop: its not a home owner tree tom trees:clap:

I was wrong and spoke too soon. I hadn't accounted for the neighboring trees that are likely entangled in the victim and will probably effect the fall.

Last edited:
I was wrong and spoke too soon. I hadn't accounted for the neighboring trees that are likely entangled in the victim and will probably effect the fall.