Best wood to burn?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

460Ted

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here. I have a wood burning stove in my house that I made 5 years ago (I'm also a welder). Anyhow, I mostly burn red oak and that seems to do well. However, I don't know that much about the different properties of wood and wondered what you guys burn and why? Also, does different wood take different lengths of time to season? Do some types of wood last longer before rotting while stacked and covered? What wood gives the best coals? Thanks for the help!

Ted

I'm no expert, but here's what Ive been told through the years. Oak is the best. Most hardwoods are good. Pine makes alot of creasol so you should avoid it. Birch doesn't give off enough heat. Ash is the best wood to burn if you have to burn it green. And your supposed to let it sit cut and split a year under cover to fully dry. Correct me if I'm wrong, I'm always interested in learning more.

rutland

Ted, at www.rutland.com you will find a listing for alot of woods and how much btu's they produce, etc. that way you can compare the woods in your area.
Boiler

Thanks boiler. Does pine always give off a lot of creosote, even when it's really seasoned?

460Ted said:
Thanks boiler. Does pine always give off a lot of creosote, even when it's really seasoned?

Yes it does. Oak or Hickory are probably the best "coaling" woods. Oak ought to be seasoned at least 6 months, probably longer since you live in the humid southeast.

Of course the wood I have the best luck with is the dry wood followed by the free wood.

In my part of the country Osage-Orange is the top heat producer, also known as Hedge Apple. It's super dense , over 5,000 lbs. per green Cord !

Oak , Ash , Locust and Hard Maple are my favorites but I will burn any wood that's free, you just have to watch that creosote.

Jeff