building my first saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jappe1987

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
hy everybody,
i want to build my firts saw.
i have picked up a jonsered cs 2077 that had a damaged cilinder and piston, so i would like to go from there.....
does anyone have any ideas ? i am a complete newbe .....
i would love to go a little bigger if possible but dont know witch cilinderand piston kits fits ....
at the moment the piston is 52 mm

i appreciate the help
jasper

Have you rebuilt any other types of engines before? If not find a good YouTube video of a saw rebuild for the same or similar model of saw. Get the saw disassembled, and put the various parts in baggies that are labeled. Get your replacement parts and clean everything very well before reassembly including the replacement parts. Go slow and ask questions. As Merc man mentioned try to diagnose why the saw failed the first time. Good luck!

Clean it up from outside in as you take apart. Pictures are good, label assys and bag them. Get an ILP and shop manual. Tools, you'll need some.

Need to diagnose why it crapped the bed. Look inside ex port to piston, do a vac/pres test.

Pull off the clutch and flywheel before the P/C. Clean up around there and under flywheel/clutch first.

Make a list of parts/part #s as you go, that you need .

Not sure if that Johnnyred shares parts with Huskyvarmints? If so, either are best parts for your saw.

I avoid Chinesium parts like the Kung Flu.

Sounds like it may already have an AM p/c on it. You are better off with an oem 50mm p/c, than an aftermarket 52mm. If you purchase a 51.4mm oem p/c you will need to have it ported to see any advantage for stock 50mm. JMO.