Chainsawing?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mopar969

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Before I begin I found this sight when I was looking for a grapple load near my house. I have a 42 cc 18" Craftsmen chainsaw brand new.

I am currently wanting to switch from an oil furnace to a wood furnace because of the cheaper price to operate. Also, because I have 6.5 acres of woods on my property. I am new to chainsawing and I am aware about being safe. However, is all this work worth the risk or should I stick with oil and pay 2100 dollars a winter. I know that there is alot of safety needed with chainsaws so I am buying chaps, helmet, ear muffs, face shield, steel toe boots, and gloves. I wanted to know what I need to do to have a safe chainsawing following my owners manual of course. Does anybody have a pdf manual they would recommend for me as a first time chainsawer.

Do You think I am just over worried. I would like to save money but at the same time I have heard some horror stories and I don't want to lose a body part, especially considering I need to use the chain saw every summer.

P.S. What do you guys use to protect your arms, and will leather gloves from harbor freight work or do I need the better baileys chain saw gloves. Also, how often do you sharpen and or replace you chain.

Thanks guys for all advice. I figure that as long as I am aware of the safety issues with a chainsaw I am less likely to have a problem, but since I am new at this I want to know how dangers they are!

You'll need more than 6.5 acres to heat a home. You can get brush jackets from Baileys. Look into finding information on removal and growth. Rule of thumb is 1cord=1acre. Typically your land can grow back what you use then.