Considerations as I head to the dealer and online

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brain

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Spent the day and the evening reading the threads here, lots of great and relevant information.

Sadly, I can't find someone in my specific category, so I thought I would ask for things to consider as I travel to the dealers and online over the next few days.

Just purchased ~ 9acres of lovely SD land, complete with mature shelter belt.

And, by mature, I mean, it's been unkept for ~40 years. It's such a mess, it'll take months to clean it up. 12-24" trees fallen in the middle, some struggling to survive with wind damage, etc. Property was rental since 1979, which explains the state of the tree belt.

Enter new property owner. I'm not a total newb around a saw, but I do not yet own one. This job is not going to get done without one.

I'm not sure I ever seriously considered them, but I did troll the box stores for a saw. All of them look so flimsy, names I've never heard, etc.

I would not classify my tool usage as abusive, but I am hard on stuff. I tend to buy pro line stuff, because they hold up better for me. Money is always a consideration, but secondary. My main concerns are:

• Size: Initially, I need something to handle this huge workload. But, afterwards, it'll just be typical homeowner use.
  • Weight: I need to limb quite a bit initially, and would prefer a lighter unit. But, I don't want to go so light that I am skimping on quality.
  • Forgiving nature. My other pro tools tend to forgive my missteps a bit. My main concern is my lack of ownership. I know I will forget something with this unit, given my lack of previous ownership. A unit that is a bit forgiving (within reason) would be a plus.