Garbage picked a Stihl 034

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SAAB

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I just wanted to start off by saying hello. I found this site by googling for info on a stihl 034 AV. Someone in town decided it wasn't worth anything to them and put it out for garbage.

I snatched it up and brought it home with me. I put some fuel in it, checked for spark. Tried to fire it, no go. The saw was actually kind of difficult to pull over. So I pulled the muffler off and took a look at things. The piston and cylinder were pretty well chewed up. I'm new to tinkering with chainsaws, but not at all new to tinkering with mechanical things. So I quickly took to google to look for replacement parts. Which brought me to Huztl.

Now I know a lot of guys are not fans of the Chinese Clone parts, but for a garbage picked saw I figured they'd be good enough.

I ordered a new 48mm piston and cylinder (wanting an upgrade over the 46mm), as well as a number of other small parts. Then I got into cleaning all of the oil soaked wood shavings out of all the cracks and crevices. I pulled the clutch and cover, found that the line for the bar oil had melted. So I went back and ordered a few more parts.

I've gotten pretty excited over this thing. I work at a contractor supply house and have it at my desk in the warehouse, tinkering with it in my spare time.

The saw is all in pieces right now. I'm sure I can take a few pictures to share, as well as share the rebuild.

I have also noticed that Huztl sells complete clone kits. I have been looking for something to do in my spare time over the winter. I think I might just buy one of the Stihl 070 kits and put it together. This may quickly become a new obsession of mine.

DSC_0050.jpg

DSC_0051.jpg

DSC_0052.jpg

DSC_0053.jpg

DSC_0054.jpg

DSC_0055.jpg

DSC_0056.jpg

DSC_0057.jpg

DSC_0058.jpg

DSC_0060.jpg