going up, coming down

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

madsen

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am very new to the world of tree climbing. The little experience I have is right outside my house, six feet off the ground. The only equipment I have are three carbineers, some perlon and a rope. I have been using a spanish bowline as a harness and as you get imagine it hurts... a lot. I have two questions,

one, will a static rock climbing rope work for tree climbing?

and

two, going from prusiking to rapping isn't as seemless as I would like it too be. How do most people do this? Does it require that you introduce a new piece of hardware before you decend. For those who use a figure eight, where is it as you climb?

I would like to avoid buying expensive gear if at all possible.

Crikey mate, you better head over to the video section and check it out. Using double rope, both ends, takes a lot of friction off the prussick an hence we have a working system that can both ascend and descend.

Crikey mate, you better head over to the video section and check it out. Using double rope, both ends, takes a lot of friction off the prussick an hence we have a working system that can both ascend and descend.

+1
The rock climbing lines that I have seen people try to use for tree climbing seem to wear out very fast.
Yes rappelling on an 8 or a munter requires a separate rope from the double rope working line.
When I used a figure 8 it stayed clipped to the back of my saddle with a 'biner. Now I just use a munter hitch, one less piece to carry.

I am very new to the world of tree climbing. The little experience I have is right outside my house, six feet off the ground. The only equipment I have are three carbineers, some perlon and a rope. I have been using a spanish bowline as a harness and as you get imagine it hurts... a lot. I have two questions,

and