Hand split or rent a splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wildeman

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
For the past 2 years i have rented a splitter and split 4 cords in a weekend have cut it all up into rounds. My stove takes up to 22” splits but i cut everything i can to 20” bar length. I have tried splitting with a maul but it kicks my tail, I am a rookie at this. My thinking is that if i cut everything 15” i could split it but that's a lot more fuel, sharpening and ware on the saw. Is it worth it for my manliness and my excuse to get out of the house “I gota go split wood” and drink beer.

Buy a good splitting axe like a Fiskars! For 4 cord I wouldn't bother renting a splitter, even if it takes you several nights after work to get it processed and stacked. Even though I have a monster splitter, I still split plenty by hand just to work off a couple of those canned pork chops.

For the past 2 years i have rented a splitter and split 4 cords in a weekend have cut it all up into rounds. My stove takes up to 22” splits but i cut everything i can to 20” bar length. I have tried splitting with a maul but it kicks my tail, I am a rookie at this. My thinking is that if i cut everything 15” i could split it but that's a lot more fuel, sharpening and ware on the saw. Is it worth it for my manliness and my excuse to get out of the house “I gota go split wood” and drink beer.

Hand splitting is good exercise!

The shorter round the quicker it will season.............:msp_biggrin:

I'd say it boils down to what you have more of- time or money. Me, I'd cut em shorter and do it by hand a little at a time.
I don't think it would put that much more wear on your saw or chain.