Hello from new member

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ian Rogers

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Guys

My first post and I hope I'm going about it the right way but any feedback on site protocol welcome.

I've been milling for a few years now using a Husky 385 and 24 inch alaskan type mill. I have the luxury of having a ready supply of cypress pine and iron bark trees on my farm as well as a tractor with front end loader and a truck. I make my own chains from bulk using Oregon skip tooth chain and sharpen them using an Oregon chain grinder.

I've uploaded 7 photos into an album under my user profile as per the instructions on the site but I've yet to work out how to put them into a post.

My original inspiration came from Will Malloff's book and I've now seen quite a few good ideas from posts on this site.

I won't ask questions until I've thoroughly researched the site but my main areas of interest are:

chain types particularly for Australian hardwoods like iron bark.
making the job easier - elevating the log, winches etc

Anyhow enough for the moment and I look forward to learning a lot from many of you.

chain types particularly for Australian hardwoods like iron bark.
making the job easier - elevating the log, winches etc

Firstly welcome - it sounds like you will fit in just right here.

RE: chain types particularly for Australian hardwoods like iron bark.
I've tried various skip, semi chisel, full chisel and square ground and my conclusion is if you have enough power then full comp semi chisel is the best chain for Aussie hardwood.
If you don't have enough power then skip helps.

RE: Elevating the log.
If you have a tractor you are already better off than most.
Here's what I use when I don't have access to a loader.
http://www.arboristsite.com/showthread.php?t=55860
Here is an interesting website with what they call an AJ log lifter.