Hired hand?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

066Bigbear

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
First off if anyone in the Central Va need firewood split please call me best way is to call (540) 241-2188 for more info. Now to the question do you hire your self and splitter out for work?. If so how often and what is your going rate? This is my first time putting myself out there but I would like to know how many of your guys do the sam. All input is welcome

If I was ever going to pay somebody to split my wood for me it would be a per cord deal because it would be bucked and ready to split but not all situations are the same.If somebody had a pile of logs and wanted you to cut them to size and split them I would give them an hourly rate charge or hourly for the bucking and flat price per cord.Bottom line is you don't want to put yourself in a situation where you work all day for peanuts.

:agree2:

I do saw-only work at $40/hr...and half that goes out in fuel and insurance costs...I'd imagine splitter-only would be similar...I try to pay myself somewhere between $10 - $20 per hour...sometimes it works out :tongue2:

a per cord cost might be a better marketing strategy (though you assume more risk that way) for splitter-only...depending on what daily splitter rentals go for in your area

if they want it stacked...that's $20/hr I'd say

first hour is full, then 15 min increments thereafter

do your math!!

cheers!

Last edited:
I have hired out many times to split for others, but take some advise from someone that has bumped heads with a few folks over the details.