home made yogurt.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ihookem

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I started making home made yogurt. it's real easy. I take a gallon, or half a gallon of whole milk. Any milk is ok though... Heat it up to 180 degrees for a while and then let is cool to 110 or so. Then take a table spoon of active yogurt . I take it from my last batch. I stir it up for a few minutes and let it cool to 100 to 110 degrees or so. I keep it in the oven with the light on and the door open just a sliver. Keeps it about 110. By morning you will have yogurt. The longer you let it sit the tangier it will be . I think 6 hours is the minimum setting time for yogurt. That would be fairly mild from what I'm told . I made about 4 batches so far .

I've been making a gallon of yogurt every 3 weeks or so for the past 10 or 15 years. My process is pretty much the same as yours. Biggest difference is I make it in four 1 qt mason jars and keep them warm in a foam cozy. I add the active yogurt when the milk cools below 130F, and that's warm enough to maintain the temp long enough in the cozy for the yogurt to finish.

I find you can't use the previous batch as a starter indefinitely. At some point, maybe 10-15 generations, I notice the yogurt starts to get bland and less firm. Most yogurt is a mix of bacteria strains, and I think some begin to dominate over time. Dannon plain whole-milk yogurt is my favorite starter.

Thanks nedsim, I think your way is easier. I burned the milk at the bottom of the cast iron pot and that made it taste a bit funny. I also noticed the yogurt is getting stronger and tart after about 4 generations, however, it may be cause I put more starter in each time. I will go get some plain white starter . I wonder why we cant use the yogurt How much starter do you put in for a gallon of milk?