How to break-in a new saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

-e-

Reaction score
My first husqvarna was a Rancher 55/20" -- got it from the factory -- it started up right away -- i've been running it hard for 6 years--kept it clean and sharp. Other than it starting to run too hot now, it's been a great saw--but too small for ripping crotches.

so for my birthday, i was given another husqvarna from the factory -- 385xp/28". this one was very difficult to start -- in fact, at first i could barely pull the cord for more than a few inches or get much shaft rotation--it loosened up after a while. however, from the time of filling w/chain oil and fresh gas/oil, this saw took almost 40 minutes of WORK to get the first sign of combustion. the blisters on my hand and the soreness of my shoulder are testimony to my struggles. this is one example of why one might want to get a saw from a dealer!

But once it rolled-over that first bit, it was easy to un-choke and get it running. i let it idle and run at varying speeds for about 15 minutes without a load. it's got a good sound to it now.

it's obvious that the saws from the factory can be very tight -- so how should i run this in the next fews hours of use? what is a good break-in protocol? some pretty large elms are coming down in the next few weeks and wonder how i should run the new saw.

i'd appreciate any suggestions
e

Last edited:
Did you drive to the factory? Or do you got connections. Sounds like somebody's got a friend...Bob

I was told to not run my saw full out without a "load" (cutting wood) for about the first 5 tank fulls.

-e- said: