Impulse lines?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Byrdmando

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Do ALL saws have them? I have been given an old Poulan 2300 that hasnt run in years. I want to see if I can get it to run again and maybe give it to a neighbor that could use a kind gesture.

I have replaced the fuel line and fuel filter and put a bit of mix down the throat and got it to fire (that is pretty encouraging to me) but I do not see an impulse line anywhere.

Obviously I am fairly new to the internal workings of a chainsaw but am in the process of trying to learn all I can.

Thanks for any help.

Do ALL saws have them? I have been given an old Poulan 2300 that hasnt run in years. I want to see if I can get it to run again and maybe give it to a neighbor that could use a kind gesture.

I have replaced the fuel line and fuel filter and put a bit of mix down the throat and got it to fire (that is pretty encouraging to me) but I do not see an impulse line anywhere.

Obviously I am fairly new to the internal workings of a chainsaw but am in the process of trying to learn all I can.

Thanks for any help.

Most likely the carb is gunked up and/or it needs new diaphragm and gaskets, etc what is called a kit.

You might get by with cleaning it. Carb comes off. pay attention to how the pieces come off, it isn't complicated but it is exact. Use a can of carb spray and clean everything, watch the teeny screen in there, don't lose it, clean it. if you order a kit (based on carb make/model) you get all new stuff. Spray through all the passgeways you find carefully as it can spit back at you, but this isn't hard to do either. Start with just little spritzes. Clean the outside off first before taking it apart.