Is this common?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
On another forum a newby to chainsaws and backhoes asked how to remove a tree and stump. Tree about 12" dbh. He is getting advice from a member that the best and safest way is to dig around it with the backhoe breaking off roots and then use the backhoe arm to push the tree over. Note this is supposed to be his regular practice and he cuts nothing off the trees first.

Doesn't seem very safe to me but...

Harry K

pushing over trees

This practice is extremely common around here, to the point where it is difficult to compete with excavators. That being said, a couple of our clients our veteran excavators who have really scared themselves in the past.

I am by no means an expert, but 12" DBH does not sound unreasonable for this practice depending on the species, soils, trunk condition and height.

If he has a thumb on the hoe, it would probably be safer to dump it leaving a high stump and then dig and pull.

Gets done quite a bit around here too on short small diam. trees, my only concern would be dead branches overhead falling on the operator, something most sensible peeps would be well aware of. I've watched people just pull them over too (chain and cable) which is probably what I'd do if I didn't like cutting things down so much :D :chainsaw: :chainsaw:

Looks like I was a bit late to edit my post. That 12" tree is a reasonable size, I agree. He states he uses the same technique on big trees and has had the tops of two of them (dead) fall on his equipment and even got hit once with branches from one of the them. His justification seems to be:

It uses the tree to help pull the stump at the same time. That is true

It is much safer than a chainsaw. On small trees, I agree.

Harry K