Log Splitter Suggestions for New Tree Service

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jbarry06248

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi.

The logs are piling up and I have to decide whether to buy a splitter or keep renting one. Rent is $60 a day, $180 for 5 days.

I have taken a look at Super Split and although it is impressive cycle time, dont think it will handle the larger size logs very well. I am thinking that if I buy a hydraulic model with decent cycle time and a 4 way attachment, that would be somewhat equivalent to SS.

Willing to spend around $2k. Any suggestions on engine make/size? Tonnage? Company?

Thanks,

John
ms660
575xp
338xpt
ms290

Well...

have you checked to see whats available at the local dealers in your area? I'd start there, and get a list going.

I have started to look around, but because I am new to this, I'd like to get some advice on what to go with without spending alot of money. For instance is 20 ton enough or should I pay a little more for 30. Is 12 second cycle time good enough, especially with a 4 way attachment? 6hp? 9hp? etc...etc...

Just would like your opinions on the minimum specs I should go with and maybe what options are worth paying a little extra money for. What companies have been reliable and those who have not.

John
--
ms660
575xp
338xpt
ms290

12 second cycle time is about what they all get.

if possible,a 4 way will increase your split volume.

Last edited:
Anything over 20 tonage should do you fine. Make sure it can split vertical also. Splitters are basically all the same, just get one that is powerful enough that you do not have to fool around with getting pieces to bust apart.

American CLS?