MS290 Oil problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jchuchla

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So, i learned my lesson the hard way. I lent my MS290 to a friend and got it back trashed. I'm by no means a chainsaw mechanic, so I took it to the shop to have it looked at. my problem was that although the saw would run great, as soon as you'd get thru a few cuts, the chain would be red hot and lock up. when i looked closer i saw that the plastic housing around the sprocket was all burned and melted. The shop tells me that it's not worth repairing. He thinks "my friend" ran it with the brake on, and destroyed the housing and now the oil can't get to the chain. he said the parts and labor will be more than the saw, and won't sell me the parts to do a DIY repair. He also tells me that I won't have the tools to even open up the case.

Anyone have an opinion on this?

--Jon--

They likely didn't check the oiler function, just noted the melted plastic. Ship the saw body to me/no bar-chain, I will fix it for under $100.

site unseen.....

More to story

In the interest of keeping the original post brief I skipped part of the story. I actually took this saw to two shops. The first was my local John deere/stihl dealership. They made the comment first about melted case and ran with the brake on. And that it would be too expensive to repair. They're more of a tractor shop that just started doing Stihl about 2 years ago so I decided to get a second opinion.
A friend recommended a local small engine shop that's also a stihl dealer. When i brought it in, They pretty much said the same thing you just said. He said he's never seen a saw with an oiler problem related to the plastic and he'd have it fixed under $100. Two weeks went by and then he called with the same story as the first guy. Ran with brake on, melted and burned chassis, too expensive to repair.