My 550XP review

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newforest

ArboristSite Operative
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I don't have a picture of it so I can't post it in the Reviews section, sorry

Well I finally purchased my first AutoTune saw. I would be pretty interested to hear if my experiences match yours.

I have been running a 346XP for about four years, generally 2+ months solid per year (40+ hour weeks, thinning, not stopping to deal with firewood). It has been getting hard to keep running, which mystifies me because there is plenty of compression left in it. But saw shops these days seem bogged down in an avalanche of Ethanol problems...another thread another day.

My first thought was the 550XP sure purrs like a kitten when idling.

Cutting was nice, seems well balanced. I like the black line of the sight, I hope that stays black for a while.

Unfortunately for saws I pick up, I have to cut both live and dead wood of all diameters (USFS "Site Prep" contracts = post-harvest maintenance cutting). I'm used to how small diameters stretch chain and I run brush saws when there is too much small stuff to cut.

When I bought the saw I was tricked into running some Warren bar oil, re-branded as "Itasca". I have always seen bad results around that bar oil and I am not a fan. But there was nothing else on the shelf that day and I had a job to complete and then invoice ASAP.

So the 550 threw the chain on the second tank. And it burred up the chain too much to keep cutting. (I hear that is common but I've never had that problem.) Naturally, this was on a 15 minute walk-in job that needed only 2 tanks to finish. I blamed the bar oil some. (A friend bought one a few weeks later and threw the chain on his 4th tank running Husqy bar oil).