need help figuring bid

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

old CB

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I'm new to commercial tree work. Been cutting trees for 40 yrs--firewood for myself and in-laws, stand thinning, sold firewood for a few winters, cut many, many loads cedar, locust and osage orange fence posts, done occasional tree removals for friends & neighbors--and now going commercial. I moved to the front range of Colorado last year, and it's too nice not to be working outdoors. Learned double-rope technique climbing, and been using only a pull saw in-tree to begin with--to make any mistakes on a small scale. Just bought a used MS 200t for climbing use--NICE unit, that.

I don't have certification, ISA, or much formal training--I learned basic forestry back in the 1970s and am studying an arborist textbook (Harris, Clark, Matheny), Jerry Beranek's "Fundamentals of General Tree Work," etc. But I've been doing pull-trees for years (where necessary), and I learned basic rigging in other fields (ranching, stagehand work). I know my limits, and will not take on any job unless I can do it safely and do it right. (Will pass on anything over powerlines, etc.)

My biggest difficulty starting out, is figuring price. With low overhead, I can work fairly cheap. But I do not want to be that cheapest-guy-around who's underbidding everyone. I've got a pretty big job to bid on, and would appreciate any help figuring my bid.