New guy needs a new saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RickP

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to the site and have a question about a new saw. I've been using a Homelite 330 for about 10 years (hand me down from my dad),its started giving me grief and I'm ready for a new saw. Its been a great saw and I used it to cut 3-4 cords per year for that time. Our new house has gas heat so my needs have changed.

I'm needing a saw for strictly occasional use. I'll use it 4-5 times per year. Mainly to keep about 1/2 cord of wood around the house for camping/fishing trips. Some cleanup after winter storms,but thats about it.

I'd like a quality saw,but don't want to spend much more than $300.

The Husky 350 has caught my eye. The 18" bar seems perfect for my needs.

Will a 350 be a good saw for my needs?

Welcome to the forum. If you are willing to spend a bit more (~$370), you might want to look into the Dolmar PS-5100S. It's getting very favorable reviews on this forum and I just ordered one from one of this site's sponsors. Should receive it this week.

The Husky 353 is a really nice saw, and probably the cheapest pro quality saw out there. It has a magnesium crank-case, and are built to last a bit longer than the 350.

The Dolmar PS-5100S has more power, and is a bit larger and heavier.

Last edited:
RickP said:

Rick, we will have no problem spending your money for ya, lol. You might end up with a 395XP if you hang around here long enough, but to answer your question, the 350 will work fine for your needs.

Don't take my previous post wrong - the 350 is a very nice saw, much nicer than the Stihl MS250.
And as trimmed said, it will do.:chainsaw:

I know a# of people I cut wood with who use there Husky 350 for exactly what you are looking for. You'll like it!

I hate to agree