New MS 290

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pbuehning

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi Guys, I just got a new MS 290 at a great price and for my uses it will do all I need. It came with a 20" bar running .325, .063 and I have added a 16" bar and the same size chains. For the lime being I plan on using the 16" bar and leaving the larger stuff to my 20" Homie.

Questions: I've heard and read about the fact that these saws take 5 - 15 tanks of fuel through them to really come alive. Would anyone care to explain and give some advise for usage during this period.

The manual also says "No full throttle off load for the first three tanks." Does this mean I can use full throttle when I'm in the wood?

Also it talks about using the carb preheater below 50 degrees F, please share your experience with this operation and how necessary is it.

I'm not a newbie to saws, but this is my first new, modern saw, so your advise and experience is appreciated.

Thanks. :

Homelite SXL-AO
2 smaller Macs for limbing and light bucking.

I always run my saws at full throttle even when new I don't full throttle them when they are out of a cut. I am in an area where it does not get cold enoguh to mess with the carb preheater. I would use high qualty oil and use good judgement and the saw will last along time.