noob looking for a dependable 14"er?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zilla31

Reaction score
I know this has probably been asked 1000x (and i've found a ton of good info around here but i'm not quite there yet): Can anyone recommend a solid, dependable 14" bar length chainsaw? Don't want to spend a fortune (i'm no professional just got a big yard).

THANKS!

I haven't had any experience with any of the newer 1 series in Sthil. Anything like 21, 23 ,25 would be a good saw, normally they come with bigger bars but you can put a smaller bar on them if you like, 14' is a little small, I'd go with the bigger bar.

Larry

Without knowing WHAT you need to cut on your property or how large your property is, I am going out on a limb on this one (bad pun, eh?). I am also going to assume that you're not looking for some Craftsman/Homelite/Poulan/McCulloch garbage. Do yourself a BIG favor and DON'T get one of those crap saws - they seldom work very long or very well. With that out of the way:

1. Stihl's 180, 210 and 250 are regarded as good homeowner saws for smaller tasks. Lots of guys on here like the 180 for being a super light saw perfect for small chores. The 250 is even capable of being used with an 18" (20?) bar. The 210 sits neatly in the middle.

2. Husqvarna's 340, 345, and 350 would also be good choices. Avoid the 137 and 141, as they are simply rebadged Poulans, complete with the Poulan problems. These saws are good, solid saws with lots of dealer support.

3. Dolmar's 460 and 510 would also be well-suited to smaller tasks. Finding a local dealer may be a problem in some areas, though I am sure TonyM (arboristsite sponsor) would be happy to help you out mail-order.