Odd Chain Behavior with Echo CS-271T

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mh9162013

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've been tinkering with my Echo CS-271T that I got for $80 a few months ago. It works, but I can't say it's safe to operate.

From the very beginning I noticed the chain catcher needed replacing and that I needed to adjust the chain tension. But after messing around with it a few times, I'm beginning to wonder if there are more serious problems or issues.

Right now it has a 14" Oregon bar and chain. What's odd is that I can never get a consistent tension on the chain as it will randomly get too loose. I tighten it up without issue, but after moving the chain with just my fingers, the chain gets loose again. As far as I can tell there's nothing wrong with the chain tensioner. And the most odd thing is that the loose chain is inconsistent. What I mean is that one second the chain seems properly tensioned. After moving the chain around a few times, the chain is clearly too lose. Move it around a few times again, and it's under tension again. I do not observe the bar (or anything else) moving at all when I do this.

I know the metal plate guards that actually sandwich the bar and hold it in place need replacing as they have tears in them. But could the chain and/or bar be defective? I'm no chainsaw expert, but the chain and bar appear just fine. I'm wondering if there's a more serious problem with the chainsaw (or bar and chain) because:

1) The bar doesn't get oiled even though the oiler is clearly working (I tested it by running the CS-271T without the bar and chain and oil was oozing out of the slot in the powerhead).