On how to be the best kind of idiot.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DutchWoodPecker

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
As a chainsaw newbie I am looking at the prices of new saws.
I am somewhat taken aback, but also quite aware that good money gets good gear, and that in the end it is probably well worth it.
I am prepared to dish out for good tools, as I know the pleasure a reliable and trustworthy tool brings.

More over, all my maintenance skills of combustion engines comes from a petrol RC car when I was a teenager.
I am well aware that this skill level is probably not enough to analyze and tackle serious problems with chainsaw engines.

So the best and most sensible thing to do would be to get a new saw, from a good store, with warranty.
But then, there are a lot of really fun second hand saws on industrial auction here, for a decent prize.
Such as a an Echo 750 EVL, that even comes with its own *crate*: https://www.troostwijkauctions.com/nl/kettingzaag/03-40165-30956-7908484/

It is a country away, so getting gas across the border (for my car, not the saw) will cover a significant part of the cost of the gas of driving there,
and the saw probably has issues, or it would not be there on auction. Yet, it is a fascinating.

There is also a well worn Stihl 046 that I read on this forum is a valued peace of equipment: https://www.troostwijkauctions.com/nl/kettingzaag/03-39507-30956-7845991/
From its looks, it is only good for scrap, but looks can deceive.

I would buy such a saw knowing that it may, but probably will not, work out. Either way it can be a fun project to take apart and learn from, without having to mourn a serious loss if mess things up.
I would consider it a lottery ticket. The chances of winning are small, but it might just be a decent saw.