Personal Protective Equipment

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

00juice

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
What safety equipment does everyone where when milling? Safety glasses, ear plugs, ear muffs, helmet, face mask, respirator, chaps? Those who wear a respirator, do you wear it all the time, or only on certain species or situations. I've only been using safety glasses and ear plugs, but am thinking of one of the helmet combos. I am also curious of the need for a respirator.
Thanks

Firstly I should preface my comments by saying I am a not a professional miller.

I used to use a separate face sheild and ear muffs when milling and sanding (mainly dry hardwood timber) and was always either coughing up or blowing out of my nose various amounts of woody residues. A couple of years ago I completely lost my sense of smell for 6 weeks and the doc said it was almost certainly wood dust related. Apparently one can develope an allergy to a particular dust in a very short period. It was awful - all beer tasted like nothing!! I do not want that happening again.

For a year or so I worked with a gas mask type respirator but I found it too uncomfortable and found myself nor wearing it as often as I should so I bought a full cover, face shield, respirator, ear muff combo unit. At first I found it a bit clautrophobic but now I wear it with no problems even in full Aussie summer heat. The amount of stuff I cough up or blow out of my nose is now effectively zero. I do a lot of rip resawing in my shed with a table saw where I have dust extraction on the saw but the resawing throws dust everywhere so I use the combo unit in there as well.