Property Damage? Need advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SlickerThanMost

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie climber with 2year experience who started working for my father. Recently, we were removing a dead Ash tree for $980 in my client's front yard and I happened to fell the tree towards the driveway which ended up causing a damage to the asphalt. We finished up with the stump grinding but obviously they won't pay until the driveway is fixed. Don't want the insurance premium going up so trying to fix this problem without any claim.

The lady(owner) got very upset and called up her husband, a lawyer at a law firm. A snobby douche.

I told the husband that we will be able to fix it.

So I got some driveway sealer and compacted it down in the hole. Got paid $500 and left.

eaba0bfbe451f9c66e341b114033f017.jpg

A day after, He tells me he's not satisfied with it and he removed all the cold asphalt from the damaged spot.

d2c3792112cda5a852e50112d76a0f80.jpg

so then I called up a small paving company for a repair (cut out the damaged part in square and pour new asphalt for $175) they are supposed to come down next week for repair and I let him know.

Meanwhile he's got different estimates from larger companies with better reputation for redoing the whole driveway with new sealing (it's a semi detached house that share driveway with neighbour). $850. He tells me 'I don't think you can find a reputable company yourself'.

And now he's asking for part of the money I was paid which is $350

Anyone has experience like this?

This guy claims that this chain oil mark is LACERATION.

f2c33a239e596ae6b5a871890eb4d563.jpg

I don't know what to tell this guy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hey *******. That's my driveway you ****ed up, and I'd like to see you call me a douche to my face!