Questions about Husky & Stihl saw lines

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daveymw

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I've just found this site and read through about 75 days worth of chainsaw posts. I've found them informative and, sometimes, entertaining. But I haven't seen much about the 2 saws I've been looking at... the Stihl 036 Pro and the Husky 357xp. At the 2 dealers I've visited the 036 pro is $509 and the Husky is $569, Both with 20" bars.

I'm not a pro logger, but I use a chainsaw fairly often on my land and hunting land and I want to buy one once and have it for the rest of my life. I've used and 026 and liked it, but my father has an old Poulan saw from the early '70s, (don't know the model) which is in the 60cc range and I like it a ton better than the 026 (except that my thumb gets tired pumpin' the oiler on the Poulan ;) . Not because it's a better saw, just because it's bigger, has a 3/8" chain, 20" bar and cuts a ton faster when you're sawing up a big log into firewood.

I probably haven't heard much about the Husky 357xp because it's new. But I see people mention the 026 and 044 a lot, but not much about the 036. I definitely want the bite and speed of a 3/8" chain, a 20" bar, and a saw that will drive it well (but I don't intend to enter any hotsaw competitions). Now on to my questions...

1. Am I wasting my money with these saws being and infrequent, but steady user and would one of the saws on the lower end of Stihl or Husky line serve me just as well. If so, which ones?

2. I'm not opposed to a used saw, what would fit my specs? I can't seem to find much info on anything but the "current" saw lines from these 2 manufacturers online, so If I see an older saw for sale, I don't know what I'm looking at. Any online references to these "older models" from these manufacturers would be appreciated.