Share your stacking (freestanding) technique

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coachgrd1

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
In the process of getting my wood cut, split and stacked for my first winter with the wood stove. (The seasoned wood I got my hands on was too long for my stove so I had to cut it down to 16-18.")

A co-worker says his stacks (freestanding) are so tight "you couldn't push them over." He says he uses no stakes on the ends, he just "cobbles" :monkey: the ends of the stack and they're as tight as can be.

Was wondering if some of you who stack your wood without the help of an enclosed structure (or stakes) could share your stacking technique and/or some close ups of your stacks so I can get a better I idea how to stack it neatly without the worry of finding it on the ground some cold winter morn.

I'm just a rookie but damn, I love reading this forum...great stuff.

gary

I use stakes, I tried the criss cross end stacking and it didn't work that well. Most of my firewood comes from fence line trees so I have a ton of unsplit limbs and then big chunks from the trunk which I quit splitting when I think they will fit in the stove. Neither one of these types make good end stacks.
I use 7' t posts and drive them in about 3', they don't move too much unless you start wedging pieces in.

In the process of getting my wood cut, split and stacked for my first winter with the wood stove. (The seasoned wood I got my hands on was too long for my stove so I had to cut it down to 16-18.")

A co-worker says his stacks (freestanding) are so tight "you couldn't push them over." He says he uses no stakes on the ends, he just "cobbles" :monkey: the ends of the stack and they're as tight as can be.