Smallest saw for an Alaskan

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daemon2525

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I want to (and will) have a some sort of a sawmill. I am a woodworker and want to saw my own lumber. I would however be happy just to saw a 12-16" log into boards. We do a craft thing called INTARSIA, and I can use small and short boards. I would probably only be sawing short logs, 4 foot or something because I am not going to buy equipment to handle real logs.

I think that I can handle 4 foot logs by hand. (with friend, cant hooks etc).

So, I was thinking of using my brand new ms260, but I do not want to ruin it.

I would like to have a bigger used saw, or the smallest new saw that I can get by with,

What do I do?, get an old Mac 10/10 , cheap poulan pro 60cc, or will I have to get a real saw? I thought a 361 might do it, but I really do not think that I should spend that kind of money.

Your opinions are appreciated.

thanks!

How much are you going to really mill Dameon? SAP did get away with a little milling with the 455, not my choice by any means, but it did work. If you are serious about it and want to do a lot, from what I have heard with what you want to do, a 440/7900/372ish size is about as small as you might want.
The Doc told me the 046 would probably be good in 20" and that is about it, I think I will listen to the builder:hmm3grin2orange:
Andy

Remember that I am talking about very small logs. I will post some of the work that we do as soon as I can find it.

I was thinking about 12" logs about 4 foot long.

Yes, you are correct, as soon as I do that I will want to do a bigger log.

I guess I'll have to find a big saw. I just thougth that I would try a little log first and see how I liked doing it.

What would be a good used saw model?