Splitter exhaust

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjjwilb134

Reaction score
Newbie here. Just got a 22 ton huskee splitter from tsc. I was wondering if anybody has ever tried to vent the exhaust from there splitter outside so the splitter could be run in a garage or barn. Is this suicide or is it possible. I wanted to start splitting up some stuff for next fall this weekend but it is suppose to be zero outside.:confused:

Newbie here. Just got a 22 ton huskee splitter from tsc. I was wondering if anybody has ever tried to vent the exhaust from there splitter outside so the splitter could be run in a garage or barn. Is this suicide or is it possible. I wanted to start splitting up some stuff for next fall this weekend but it is suppose to be zero outside.:confused:

Theoretically possible, but wouldn't it be easier to bundle up a bit? In addition to rigging up the exhaust, you'd have all of the extra work of bringing the wood in and out of the barn.

If you are working, and keep moving, you won't really feel the cold all that much.

The splitter on the other hand, especially the pump, would be happier if it spent the night before in the garage and was brought out when you are ready to split.

Go back to TSC and buy the little magnetic block heater,slap it on the tank and leave it plugged in all night.

I wouldnt even think about modding the exhaust on a new engine.

Last edited:
I had wondered if it would be possible to mount a motorcycle muffler to the tongue of a splitter and route the exhaust through that to quiet it down. Talk about lowering the stress of running it for any length of time...

Ian

I had wondered if it would be possible to mount a motorcycle muffler to the tongue of a splitter and route the exhaust through that to quiet it down. Talk about lowering the stress of running it for any length of time...

Ian

"earplugs?"