Stihl 044 chain saw problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

r0858

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I got a Stihl 044 I have been using for a couple years. Power is starting to go, and it is bogging down a little. I did a compression test on it and it is holding 125 psi with three to four pulls. I have not pulled the muffler to see if there was any piston scaring. I am a pretty good auto mechanic, but have no experience with these two cycle engines. My question is how hard is it to rebuild this Stihl 044 with a new piston possibly a totally new jug. I would like to hot rod it, and put the largest piston jug assembly and a modified muffler in it to get as much power as possible. Not sure how much the Stihl dealer would charge, but I am sure it is not cheap. I plan on getting my parts off ebay if I can. Any advice or comments are greatly appreciated

Plenty of info here. Use the search feature. Take weeks to read it all.:givebeer:

By the way, welcome to AS.

The biggest P&C you can easily put on that frame is from the 046 orMS460. A new 044/ ms440 P&C with a good woods porting job and muffler mod will put a smile on your face. I would do a complete rebuild on that saw and it would be good for another 1500-2000 hours of run time. I myself have done over 20 of them in the last 2 years.
Pioneerguy600