stihl guide bar 36" 1.3mm our 1.5mm

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kebo57

Retired Engineer MOD, BAE, Paper Mill.
Reaction score
Hi I’m thinking of getting a longer bar for my MS460
& came across the 1.3

Stihl Guide Bar SL 90cm/36" 1,3mm/0.050" 3/8"​

Does the 1.3mm relates to the grove in the bar so has a thinner Kerf our less wood to remove, I was thinking that big stuff would have 1.5mm our bigger, obviously I’m new to chainsaws

I've often questioned the chain 'gauge' thing before. From my understanding, and someone correct me if I'm wrong, the kerf is the same width between the two gauges. The difference is stouter (thicker) metal is used for the drive links.

Ok so where do you draw the line on a 1.2mm our would you use a 1.2mm on a 660 our 880

Ok so where do you draw the line on a 1.2mm our would you use a 1.2mm on a 660 our 880
Don't know. That's the part I don't understand. My Stihl 038 came with a 0.063 (1.5) B&C not a 0.050 (1.2). And my MS 170 has a 0.043 on it and not a 0.050 which seems easier to come by.

& came across the 1.3

Does the 1.3mm relates to the grove in the bar so has a thinner Kerf our less wood to remove, I was thinking that big stuff would have 1.5mm our bigger, obviously I’m new to chainsaws
These measurements relate to the thickness of the drive link and typically have nothing to do with the kerf. Post your questions in the chainsaw forum if you want a lively debate over the merits of the various thicknesses.

Ron

Oh dear you have answered my question with “Don't know”
When I bump my thread you have replied with “Don't know”

& came across the 1.3

The .05 is the thickness of the driver. That number by itself does not indicate the kerf.