Stihl Ms 170 or Husky 141

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jazzyd

Reaction score
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'll be using it around the house. Cutting down tree limbs What do you all recommend. Sthil ms 170 30.cc $149.00 husky 141 40.2cc Or what you all prefer. I'm new at this if I sound stupid.

Buy the one that has the best dealer support. Do you know how to use a chainsaw? If not, find out which dealer can show you how to use it safely, and carries the personal protective equipment (PPE) that you will need.

I'm a Stihl guy, but I'll readily second what fwf said, go with the better dealer. If your Husky dealer will take care of you, and has what you need, that will be your better option. Vice-versa if the Stihl dealership takes care of you. A good dealer is priceless, and can even almost overcome any shortcomings a saw might have, with the peace of mind you'll get from knowing that they'll take care of you.

Jeff

I generally agree with the others, but be aware that the two saws you mention isn't really comparable. The 141 is both heavier and more powerful than the 170. In that respect the MS230 would be more comparable.
On the flip side, the 141 isn't what I would call a "real" Husky. It is made by Poulan, and the construction reminds me more of homeowner Poulans, than "real" Husky's. The 340 is in the same power/weight range, and probably a much better/smoother saw.
Over here the price difference is small, so I don't think that they sell many 141's (or 136's). The Stihl MS170 cost substansially less.

Yes if you rub real hard on the orange, you can see the green. The Stihl you
mentioned is no great prize winner, but our dealer here has it advertised at $159.
If you do go Stihl, tell him you want the regular picco chain and bar, not the .043
gauge one.