What is a good, smaller saw?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kkesler

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi all. Newbie here with a question. For background, I cut wood for our family to burn and whatever I have to clear on the 3 acres we own. I currently use a Homelite C5 which is as old as I am, which although it runs and cuts like a champ, it also weighs almost as much as I do. Parts are scarce for it as well, so I am considering buying a newer, smaller saw to handle smaller wood and save the wear and tear on the bigger saw for when I need it.

Question: What to buy? I own several other pieces of Stihl equipment, and have been more than pleased with my experiences with their stuff. I may not be cutting 10 cords per year, but I like equipment that works everytime without problem.

Welcome to our world.

Now, depending on how much power you want, you have a choice between MANY MANY saws. large, small, you name it pretty much. theres ALL kinds of saws, if you tell us the general size, type, and amount of wood you cut yearly, the guys here can help you decide what to buy.

Welcome to the site. Stihl MS 250, 260, 270, 280 depending on your taste and wallet are all good candidates. If power to weight ratio are important then the 260 and 280 are the best IMO. :)

Or if you care to stay low and build a Homie collection, you could add some power 1500 rpm and loose 3 pounds with a different power head (xl923 924 925 or VI944 VI955) and probably more with the thinner kerf 3/8.

Heck an XL12 would drop over 5 lbs power head alone. (12lb 9oz) but you don't gain anything but your back not hurting.

From listening to the guys that know - it's almost time to ask what local support you have?

What's up with this MS stuff for Stihl nomenclature?