What is the best all around saw "mid duty"?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aaron Hudson

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey all,

I have never used a chainsaw before. I have had about a million times where I SHOULD have went out and purchased one for a job, but went at it old school with a hand saw and clippers.

I currently live on a 1 acre property that needs some small trees cut down and some brush cleared up. I'm land shopping for 25+ acres to buy and build a home on and it seems stupid to buy a small saw that I can't continue to use.

Budget is tight at around $300-350. I have always used stihl trimmers and blowers, but I am not set on any brand name. Is buying a used pro saw my best option? The newer saws seem to have some really silly things/gimmicks added, but that may just be my perception.

Thank you
Aaron

I'm digging through old threads as we go along. A new saw would be a huge plus as I have some projects that need to be finished in the next two weeks. Fencing is going up on two sides of the property, and right now the corner of the lot is a nasty mess of saplings, an old beat up apple tree mixed in with poision ivy and honeydew.

So far:
Poulan 5020 for a cheap work type saw
Husky 445-450 (Exceeds budget, but its new and may fit the bill)

Considering I don't know jack about chainsaws, who would I take the saw to for repair? I have a great Husky dealer nearby, and two decent Stihl dealers. I don't know of any Echo dealers beyond Home Depot.

(Not trying to sound like a smart butt). I don't know anything about Echo product support.

For that price range you can get a nice husqvarna 262xp. Its an older saw but they are great size for 'all around' duty.